A Lutheran Says What?

Sermons and random thoughts on God, the world and the intersection of the two

Reflection Time November 10, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — bweier001 @ 5:52 am
Tags: , ,

So this writing a blog post a day thing sounded good until it’s nine days in and it’s 10:45 p.m. on Saturday night and I need to get up at 5:15 a.m. for church. 🙂 But here is the thing, the discipline of writing each day has been good for me. I have noticed that it is giving me permission to reflect a bit deeper and have some internal alone time. For an extrovert like me, that is not a natural go to.
The busyness of my day to day life of mom, wife and pastor (etc.) doesn’t typically afford me much reflection time or sleep. Most of my personal time comes in the form of my daily morning run. But I find myself looking forward to the time when I can just sit and write this blog. Kinda an excuse to not do anything else.
I don’t allow myself much time to do “just nothing” or something that seems frivolous. But one thing that I do know about myself is that “down time” is crucial to my creativity and overall well being. Writing everyday has been a creative outlet that I didn’t even know that I would necessarily enjoy-it’s very different from all the academic writing of my seminary years-and one that I hope I find space to continue after this “national blog post month” is complete. Don’t worry, I won’t continue to blow up your twitter feed with my posts. 🙂 But I am curious to anyone (all four of you) who read this: what are your creative outlets that you should find time for that could gift the world? Where do you find reflection time?

 

Leave a Reply

