A Lutheran Says What?

Sermons and random thoughts on God, the world and the intersection of the two

The gift of this blog or how I have given up perfectionism for November November 24, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — bweier001 @ 4:49 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I have done enough writing this week to complete a whole book I think. I have kept up with my daily blog posts on this page, completed my work for my other website (www.faithformationjourneys.org),wrote December confirmation curriculum and a sermon. I am a little over writing. But one of the reasons I took on the challenge of this daily blog writing for November was to write more often and hopefully improve my skills, hone my style a bit and learn something in the process. Since it is a daily blog, there is no time for serious research on a topic (I am sure you have all noticed that), any real editing and often not much fore thought. Essentially, I am putting thoughts and ideas out into the world with little to no close examination. Yikes! Yet, there has been a freeing aspect of that for me. I tend to be a perfectionist and no one is harder on me than me. But this blog has forced me to let go of perfection and just accept that good enough is good enough. I read a quote by Anne Lamott today on twitter about perfectionism: “Perfectionism is a mean, frozen form of idealism, while messes are the artist’s true friend.”
Letting go of perfectionism in this small way this month has opened up for me the beauty in the mess. The creativity that is released because I won’t be perfect so who cares? Just say what I want to say and if you all don’t like it well…? While I have been doing all this writing this week, the creativity has not dried up. I have written some things that have not been great but it sparked how I could do something different in the future or led to positive changes in other pieces of my work.
I can always tell when I am getting caught in my own need to be perfect because it becomes difficult for me to take risks. So one of the paradoxes about me is that I can be a huge risk taker and I have a need to get it right the first time. Yes, that is crazy. In theory, those two things can balance each other out for healthy decision making. But when things get out of whack for me for one reason or another, I can be led to take risks without thinking it through or become paralyzed and not do anything for fear of messing up.
I think most of the time I can keep a fairly good balance and these two opposites come together in a way that leads to creativity that can realistically be done.
Being freed from the tyranny of perfectionism, even just in this small way, has been a gift of this blog. I am not always going to get it right, be perfect or even be close to perfect, but that does not diminish who I am overall as a person. If I mess up this blog post today-hey-I get to, have to, try again tomorrow! Maybe you will like that post better-or not. It doesn’t matter. Maybe my mess will spark something creative in you. That would be perfect! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

